Coconut Oil is Life

I don’t know what your skin looks like in the winter but I get scaly and dry and itchy. I look like a peach colored lizard. My boyfriend introduced me to coconut oil and it has done amazing things for my skin. I was skeptical at first because I was seeing it everywhere as a health craze fad and I’m always skeptical of that type of product. Like the kind of fad products that claim they will make you look younger, prevent sun damage, walk your dog, do your taxes, that kind of bullshit. But no. Coconut oil is legit.

I use solid coconut oil in the shower so it really locks in moisture and I use fractionated coconut oil at night so it has a chance to soak into my skin while I sleep. I’ve also used it as a hair mask on my incredibly bleach damaged hair. And after I use it I am SO SOFT and I get SO EXCITED and I just wanna keep touching my skin. Is that creepy? I feel like that might be creepy…

It’s also really helped heal the perpetually dry spots I had on my elbows and ankles. One spot is still healing but it was so bad dry skin was literally cracking off and hurting badly. It’s greatly improved though and I’m very happy with it.

I don’t use it on my face since coconut oil can clog your pores and I am very acne prone. It hasn’t given me any body zits though.

Coconut oil also helps kill bacteria, which can be great for helping boob sweat and armpit smells. It helps a fair bit in the summer to control sweat smells in between showers. But it also means you have to be careful not to get it all up in your lady zone. It can disrupt the natural balance of bacteria that live in your vagina and could cause a yeast infection or a bacterial vaginosis. And nobody wants a vagina infection, amirite? I’ve also noticed that it changes the smell and texture of vaginal discharge in a not especially pleasant way. I still use it in that area because I love how soft everything feels. Just be careful of the fun zone.

So yeah. I can’t say enough about how much I love coconut oil. I feel like a new person when I use it. In fact, I’m gonna go cover myself in oil and head to bed. I may be waking up at 6am for work but at least my skin will be amazing.

Author: nerdlovesmakeup

26 year old barista, nerd, punk lady with a passion for makeup. Stay tuned for reviews, first impressions, tutorials, and whatever else I think of. Always open to idea or requests!

Leave a Reply

